The New Seven Wonders Of The World

The 7 Wonders of the World are often referred to as the seven wonders of the ancient world. It’s a question that’s often asked – what are the 7 wonders of the world?

Over the years many different lists have been created to document the most spectacular and awe inspiring constructions and natural things around the world.

The first known list of seven wonders of the world was compiled by greek writers. The list consisted of seven ancient wonders based solely on classical works around the Mediterranean rim. Unfortunately today only the Great Pyramid of Giza still stands.

  • Great Pyramid of Giza
  • Hanging Gardens of Babylon
  • Statue of Zeus at Olympia
  • Temple of Artemis at Ephesus
  • Mausoleum of Maussollos at Halicarnassus
  • Colossus of Rhodes
  • Lighthouse of Alexandria

On July 7, 2007 in Lisbon, Portugal a new list of new 7 wonders of the world was announced. The vote was devised by led by Bernard Weber and organised by Swiss government controlled New Seven Wonders Foundation.

See this site for more information on the 7 wonders of the ancient world.

If you are planning your trip round the globe it’s likely that you’ll be interested in visiting at least one of the following new seven wonders of the world:

Paul Dow

Hello! I'm Paul, an award winning travel blogger who focuses on solo adventure travel and has a passion for using new technology. I write, take photos and produce videos about travel, food, craft beer, coffee and adventure.

  • @dohop

    That is a good list. I've been to Chichen Itza and really want to visit Petra. My next vacation will be sun, sand and bars, but after that I want to go to Petra.

  • TravMonkey

    Thanks for your comment dohop! I've been to about 3 of the wonders! Loved them all! :)

  • Adrian

    Have you any ideas on the cheapest but reasonable way to see all the wonders?